Passport · Japan · requirements

Japanese passport photo requirements

Japanese passport photos follow the ICAO standard closely: 35 mm wide by 45 mm high, the head 34 mm ± 2 mm from chin to crown, the crown 4 mm ± 2 mm below the top edge, and the face centred within 2 mm of the horizontal middle. The background must be plain with no shadows or pattern, and the photo must have been taken within six months. Since 2023 renewals can be lodged online through Mynaportal with an uploaded photo.

Make and check a JP passport photo Free checker; files from A$6.99.

Specification

Japanese passport photo specification
Photo size 35 × 45 mm (1.38 × 1.77 in)
Pixels at 300 / 600 dpi 413 × 531 px / 827 × 1063 px
Head height (chin to crown) 32–36 mm
Eye line from bottom not specified
Head width not specified
Space above the crown 2–6 mm
Background plain and light
Background editing not allowed (retake instead)
Glasses allowed only with no glare and frames clear of the eyes
Expression neutral, mouth closed
Recency taken in the last 6 months
Print requirements photo paper, clear print, no creases — One photo for the paper form, attached without glue marks. Online applications upload a file.
Digital upload 1050×1350 px JPEG (Passport online application (Mynaportal)); 827×1063 px JPEG (Printing a 35×45 mm photo for a paper application)
Self-taken photos accepted
Prints needed 1
Infant rules eyes may be closed, mouth may be open (under 1)
Official source MOFA – Passport photo standards (updated 3 March 2025)

Check the official source. Some values on this page could not be confirmed from the official page when it was last checked (2026-10-28).

  • The MOFA page was fetched; the dimensional rules live in its linked PDF. 35×45 mm, head 34±2 mm (32–36), crown 4±2 mm from the top edge and face centred ±2 mm are the published ICAO-based figures; re-check the PDF for any revision.
  • Online application (passport data upload) pixel and file-size limits are in the MOFA FAQ and were not confirmed.

Can I take it myself? Yes

Yes. MOFA publishes the standard so that any photo meeting it is accepted, and the online renewal flow expects you to upload a photo you have taken or had taken at a studio. Japanese passport offices measure photos precisely, so use the readout here for the top margin as well as the head height; both are checked at the counter.

How to take the photo

  1. Use a plain wall in white, light blue or light grey. The rule is no pattern and no gradient, with clear contrast to your hair.
  2. Face a window for even light, stand half a metre from the wall and switch off the flash so there is no shadow or reflection.
  3. Someone else takes the photo from about 1.5 metres at eye level, including the shoulders and leaving space above the head. The tool positions the crown 4 mm from the top.
  4. Neutral expression, mouth closed, eyes open and looking at the lens. Hair must not cover the eyebrows or the outline of the face.
  5. Glasses are allowed if the frames do not cover the eyes and there is no reflection; coloured lenses and thick frames are refused.
  6. No hats, headbands, wireless earbuds or large earrings. Religious head coverings are accepted if the face from chin to forehead is visible.

Why JP passport photos get rejected

  1. Head height outside 32–36 mm. Adjust the head-size control until the readout sits in the band; the counter measures this with a ruler.
  2. Crown too close to or too far from the top edge. The crown must be 2–6 mm below the top. Use the vertical control; the checker reports the margin.
  3. Shadow on the background or face. Light from the front and stand away from the wall.
  4. Background not plain. Use a plain light wall; no door frames, curtains or gradients.
  5. Hair over the eyebrows or face outline. Tie hair back so the full face outline is visible.
  6. Glasses reflecting light. Remove them or move the light source to the side.
  7. Photo older than six months. Take a new one.

Infants and children

Lay the baby on a plain white or light-coloured sheet and photograph from directly above so the face is level. The eyes should be open where possible, but MOFA treats infant expression leniently and allows a slightly off-centre head. Nobody else, including a supporting hand, may be in the frame.

Step by step: Passport online application via Mynaportal

  1. Log in to Mynaportal with your My Number card and start the passport renewal application.
  2. Upload the photo file at the photo step. The app shows guide lines for the head and crown position; the JPEG from this tool is framed to match them.
  3. Upload a signature image and submit. Collect the passport in person at the passport centre.

File limits: JPEG, 35×45 mm proportions, taken within six months, plain background. File-size and pixel limits are listed in the MOFA FAQ for domestic and overseas applicants; our export is 1050×1350 px.

Open Passport online application via Mynaportal

What it costs

A photo booth in Japan charges ¥800–1,000 and a studio ¥1,500–3,000. Abroad, a shop charges A$17–25 or US$15–17. Our Single licence (A$6.99 / ¥ equivalent charged in your currency) gives you the online file and print sheets for 30 days.

JP passport photo FAQ

What size is a Japanese passport photo?

35×45 mm, head 34 mm ± 2 mm from chin to crown, crown 4 mm ± 2 mm from the top edge, face centred within ±2 mm.

Can I renew online with my own photo?

Yes. Renewals through Mynaportal take an uploaded photo. First-time applications still require a visit.

What background is allowed?

Plain white, light blue or light grey with no pattern, gradient or shadow.

Are glasses allowed?

Yes if the frames do not cover the eyes and there is no reflection. No coloured lenses or sunglasses.

Does the photo office really measure the margin?

Yes. Japanese passport counters check the head height and the crown margin with a template; the readout here reports both.

Can I smile?

No. A neutral expression with the mouth closed is required.

Is a Japanese visa photo the same?

No. Japan visa photos are 45×45 mm; see our Japan visa page.

Last verified 2026-10-28 against MOFA – Passport photo standards (updated 3 March 2025). Spotted a mistake? Report an error.