Passport · Japan

Japanese passport photo maker and checker Check official source

Free: the full checker with live measurements, every control and a watermarked preview. Paid: clean files and print sheets from A$6.99. The price is shown before you add a photo.

Photo size
35 × 45 mm
Head height
32–36 mm
Background
plain and light
Glasses
No glare
Change document
For example “UK passport”, “DS-160” or “OCI”
  • Passports

  • Visas and e-visas

  • Citizenship and residency

  • Other ID

1 Your photo

Drag to move · scroll or pinch to zoom · arrow keys to nudge

JPEG, PNG, WebP or HEIC. Drag a photo here instead. Nothing is uploaded.

Camera tips before you shoot
  • Someone else holds the phone about 1.5 m away at your head height. No selfies at arm's length.
  • Daylight from a window in front of you; no flash, no overhead-only light.
  • Plain light wall, half a metre behind you, no shadow on it.
  • Shoulders in frame, space above the head; the tool crops.
  • Use the original file, not a screenshot or a messaging-app copy.

People

More than one person needs the Pass (up to 6). Names stay in memory only.

3 Adjust

Background editing is not allowed for this document. If the background check fails, retake against a plain wall.

2 Compliance checks

No photo yet

    4 Download

    Free Watermarked preview

    350 px JPEG and a 150 dpi 6×4 sheet, watermarked.

    Paid Print-ready files · A$6.99

    Single: one person, this document, 30 days. Pass A$12.99: 6 people, every document, 30 days.

    Charged in your local currency at checkout. Prices include GST for Australian buyers.

    Files to generate

      Guarantee: full refund if the authority rejects a photo our checker marked as passing, for size, framing, head position or file format. Terms. Overriding a failed check voids it for that rule.

      Family & multi-document pass

      A$12.99

      Up to 6 people, every document on the site, all formats, 30 days.

      Buy Pass

      Charged in your local currency at checkout. Prices include GST for Australian buyers.

      Already bought? Enter your licence key
      Starts with cs_; shown on the page after payment. Works on any device.

      Full Japanese passport requirements · Why was my photo rejected? · Official source: MOFA – Passport photo standards (updated 3 March 2025)

      Japanese passport photo requirements, in brief

      Condensed guide. Read the full Japanese passport requirements or the rejection diagnostic.

      Specification

      Japanese passport photo specification
      Photo size 35 × 45 mm (1.38 × 1.77 in)
      Pixels at 300 / 600 dpi 413 × 531 px / 827 × 1063 px
      Head height (chin to crown) 32–36 mm
      Eye line from bottom not specified
      Head width not specified
      Space above the crown 2–6 mm
      Background plain and light
      Background editing not allowed (retake instead)
      Glasses allowed only with no glare and frames clear of the eyes
      Expression neutral, mouth closed
      Recency taken in the last 6 months
      Print requirements photo paper, clear print, no creases — One photo for the paper form, attached without glue marks. Online applications upload a file.
      Digital upload 1050×1350 px JPEG (Passport online application (Mynaportal)); 827×1063 px JPEG (Printing a 35×45 mm photo for a paper application)
      Self-taken photos accepted
      Prints needed 1
      Infant rules eyes may be closed, mouth may be open (under 1)
      Official source MOFA – Passport photo standards (updated 3 March 2025)

      Check the official source. Some values on this page could not be confirmed from the official page when it was last checked (2026-10-28).

      • The MOFA page was fetched; the dimensional rules live in its linked PDF. 35×45 mm, head 34±2 mm (32–36), crown 4±2 mm from the top edge and face centred ±2 mm are the published ICAO-based figures; re-check the PDF for any revision.
      • Online application (passport data upload) pixel and file-size limits are in the MOFA FAQ and were not confirmed.
      • The top-margin rule (crown 4 mm ± 2 mm from the top) is what sets Japan apart; the tool positions by it instead of centring the head.

      Can I take it myself? Yes

      Yes. MOFA publishes the standard so that any photo meeting it is accepted, and the online renewal flow expects you to upload a photo you have taken or had taken at a studio. Japanese passport offices measure photos precisely, so use the readout here for the top margin as well as the head height; both are checked at the counter.

      Why JP passport photos get rejected

      1. Head height outside 32–36 mm. Adjust the head-size control until the readout sits in the band; the counter measures this with a ruler.
      2. Crown too close to or too far from the top edge. The crown must be 2–6 mm below the top. Use the vertical control; the checker reports the margin.
      3. Shadow on the background or face. Light from the front and stand away from the wall.
      4. Background not plain. Use a plain light wall; no door frames, curtains or gradients.
      5. Hair over the eyebrows or face outline. Tie hair back so the full face outline is visible.

      JP passport photo FAQ

      What size is a Japanese passport photo?

      35×45 mm, head 34 mm ± 2 mm from chin to crown, crown 4 mm ± 2 mm from the top edge, face centred within ±2 mm.

      Can I renew online with my own photo?

      Yes. Renewals through Mynaportal take an uploaded photo. First-time applications still require a visit.

      What background is allowed?

      Plain white, light blue or light grey with no pattern, gradient or shadow.

      Are glasses allowed?

      Yes if the frames do not cover the eyes and there is no reflection. No coloured lenses or sunglasses.

      Does the photo office really measure the margin?

      Yes. Japanese passport counters check the head height and the crown margin with a template; the readout here reports both.

      Can I smile?

      No. A neutral expression with the mouth closed is required.

      Last verified 2026-10-28 against MOFA – Passport photo standards (updated 3 March 2025). Spotted a mistake? Report an error.

      Full requirements page