Other ID · Australia · requirements

Tasmanian RWVP photo (interstate and overseas applicants) photo requirements

If you apply for Tasmania's Registration to Work with Vulnerable People (RWVP) from interstate or overseas, you provide your own photo. The Department of Justice says it must meet the Australian passport photo requirements and be certified by a Justice of the Peace, Commissioner for Declarations, Notary Public or other authorised officer. The certification goes beside the image, not on it, and the certified photo is uploaded at the Supporting Docs stage as a PDF or JPG under 15 MB.

Make and check a RWVP Tasmania photo Free checker; files from A$6.99.

Specification

Tasmanian RWVP photo (interstate and overseas applicants) photo specification
Photo size 35 × 45 mm (1.38 × 1.77 in)
Pixels at 300 / 600 dpi 413 × 531 px / 827 × 1063 px
Head height (chin to crown) 32–36 mm
Eye line from bottom not specified
Head width not specified
Space above the crown not specified
Background white or light grey
Background editing not allowed (retake instead)
Glasses not allowed
Expression neutral, mouth closed
Recency taken in the last 6 months
Print requirements photo paper, good quality colour print — The printed photo is certified beside the image by a JP, Commissioner for Declarations, Notary Public or other authorised officer, then scanned and uploaded.
Digital upload 827×1063 px JPEG (Printing for certification (then scan with the certification beside it))
Self-taken photos accepted
Prints needed 1
Infant rules eyes open, mouth closed (under 1)
Official source Department of Justice Tasmania – Apply from interstate or overseas (RWVP)

Can I take it myself? Yes

Yes. Interstate and overseas applicants supply their own passport-standard photo. Take it, check it here against the Australian passport rules, print it at actual size, and take the print to an authorised certifier. They certify beside the image and sign; you then scan the page as one file and upload it. Applicants in Tasmania follow the in-state process, which the department describes separately.

How to take the photo

  1. Take a passport-standard photo: plain light background, even light, neutral expression, eyes open, no glasses, head and shoulders, from about 1.5 metres.
  2. Check it here; the checker applies the Australian passport rules (head 32–36 mm on a 35×45 mm photo).
  3. Print the 6×4 sheet at actual size on photo paper, or print the 600 dpi file on an A4 page with white space around it for the certification.
  4. Take the print to a JP, Commissioner for Declarations, Notary Public or other authorised officer and have them certify it beside the image, not across it.
  5. Scan or photograph the page as a single PDF or JPG under 15 MB and upload it at stage 6, Supporting Docs, of the online application.

Why RWVP Tasmania photos get rejected

  1. Certification written across the photo. The certification must sit beside the image; reprint and recertify.
  2. Photo does not meet passport requirements. Retake and check against the Australian passport rules here.
  3. File over 15 MB or wrong format. Save the scan as PDF or JPG under 15 MB.
  4. Photo and certification uploaded as separate files. Provide them as one file, per the department's instructions.
  5. Uncertified photo. Have it certified by an authorised officer before uploading.

Infants and children

Not applicable to RWVP. For a child's Australian passport photo, see the baby passport page.

Step by step: RWVP online application (interstate and overseas)

  1. Prepare certified proof of identity documents.
  2. Prepare a passport-standard photo and have it certified beside the image.
  3. Complete the online application and upload documents and photo at stage 6 Supporting Docs; pay the fee by credit card.

File limits: Australian passport photo requirements; certified by an authorised officer beside the image; uploaded as PDF or JPEG/JPG, each file no bigger than 15 MB.

Open RWVP online application (interstate and overseas)

What it costs

Certification by a JP or Commissioner for Declarations is usually free. Our Single licence (A$6.99, 30 days) gives the clean 600 dpi file and print sheet; printing a 6×4 at a kiosk costs well under a dollar.

Retailer pages: Kmart , Officeworks , Australia Post , Snapfish .

RWVP Tasmania photo FAQ

What photo standard does Tasmania's RWVP use?

The Australian passport photo requirements, according to the Department of Justice.

Who can certify my photo?

A Justice of the Peace, Commissioner for Declarations, Notary Public or another authorised officer in your state, territory or country.

Where should the certification go?

Directly beside the image, with no certification text on the image itself.

What file types can I upload?

PDF or JPEG/JPG, each no bigger than 15 MB.

Do I need this if I hold an NDIS Worker Screening Check?

Not for NDIS work: the department says a NDIS Worker Screening Check from another state is nationally recognised.

Does this apply to applicants in Tasmania?

No. This page covers interstate and overseas applicants; in-state applicants follow the department's standard process.

Last verified 2026-10-29 against Department of Justice Tasmania – Apply from interstate or overseas (RWVP). Spotted a mistake? Report an error.