Other ID · Australia

NT Ochre Card (Working with Children Clearance) photo photo maker and checker Check official source

Free: the full checker with live measurements, every control and a watermarked preview. Paid: clean files and print sheets from A$6.99. The price is shown before you add a photo.

Photo size
35 × 45 mm
Head height
30–37 mm
Background
plain and light
Glasses
Not allowed
Change document
For example “UK passport”, “DS-160” or “OCI”
  • Passports

  • Visas and e-visas

  • Citizenship and residency

  • Other ID

1 Your photo

Drag to move · scroll or pinch to zoom · arrow keys to nudge

JPEG, PNG, WebP or HEIC. Drag a photo here instead. Nothing is uploaded.

Camera tips before you shoot
  • Someone else holds the phone about 1.5 m away at your head height. No selfies at arm's length.
  • Daylight from a window in front of you; no flash, no overhead-only light.
  • Plain light wall, half a metre behind you, no shadow on it.
  • Shoulders in frame, space above the head; the tool crops.
  • Use the original file, not a screenshot or a messaging-app copy.

People

More than one person needs the Pass (up to 6). Names stay in memory only.

3 Adjust

Background editing is not allowed for this document. If the background check fails, retake against a plain wall.

2 Compliance checks

No photo yet

    4 Download

    Free Watermarked preview

    350 px JPEG and a 150 dpi 6×4 sheet, watermarked.

    Paid Print-ready files · A$6.99

    Single: one person, this document, 30 days. Pass A$12.99: 6 people, every document, 30 days.

    Charged in your local currency at checkout. Prices include GST for Australian buyers.

    Files to generate

      Guarantee: full refund if the authority rejects a photo our checker marked as passing, for size, framing, head position or file format. Terms. Overriding a failed check voids it for that rule.

      Family & multi-document pass

      A$12.99

      Up to 6 people, every document on the site, all formats, 30 days.

      Buy Pass

      Charged in your local currency at checkout. Prices include GST for Australian buyers.

      Already bought? Enter your licence key
      Starts with cs_; shown on the page after payment. Works on any device.

      Full NT Ochre Card (Working with Children Clearance) photo requirements · Why was my photo rejected? · Official source: NT.GOV.AU – Working with Children Clearance: before you apply

      NT Ochre Card (Working with Children Clearance) photo photo requirements, in brief

      Condensed guide. Read the full NT Ochre Card (Working with Children Clearance) photo requirements or the rejection diagnostic.

      Specification

      NT Ochre Card (Working with Children Clearance) photo photo specification
      Photo size 35 × 45 mm (1.38 × 1.77 in)
      Pixels at 300 / 600 dpi 413 × 531 px / 827 × 1063 px
      Head height (chin to crown) 30–37 mm
      Eye line from bottom not specified
      Head width not specified
      Space above the crown not specified
      Background plain and light
      Background editing not allowed (retake instead)
      Glasses not allowed
      Expression neutral, mouth closed
      Recency taken in the last 6 months
      Print requirements photo paper, high-quality print — For postal applications or lodgement at a Territory Business Centre or police station, an original photo or high-quality print is required; photocopies are not accepted.
      Digital upload 827×1063 px JPEG, 0–4 MB (SAFE NT online application)
      Self-taken photos accepted
      Prints needed 1
      Infant rules eyes open, mouth closed (under 1)
      Official source NT.GOV.AU – Working with Children Clearance: before you apply

      Check the official source. Some values on this page could not be confirmed from the official page when it was last checked (2026-10-29).

      • Read on nt.gov.au on 2026-10-29: photo less than six months old, 45–50 mm high and 35–40 mm wide, close-up of head and top of shoulders, centred and in focus, pale background with no shadows, no pixellation; JPG for online applications; original or high-quality print for postal and in-person lodgement; photo taken free at the SAFE NT Darwin office. No head-size band or pixel size is given; the checker uses passport proportions as a framing target. Glasses rule taken from the Territory Services digital photo page (remove unless medically required).
      • NT publishes no head-size band or pixel size; the checker's head target is a framing guide.

      Can I take it myself? Yes

      Yes. SAFE NT accepts a photo you take yourself for online, postal and Territory Business Centre or police-station applications, as long as it meets the published rules. If you are in Darwin you can instead have it taken free at the SAFE NT office. For online applications, upload the JPG exported here; for postal applications, print the 6×4 sheet at a kiosk and cut one photo out. Photocopies are not accepted.

      Why Ochre Card NT photos get rejected

      1. Photo older than six months. Take a new photo.
      2. Shadows or a dark background. Retake against a pale wall with even light.
      3. Not centred or out of focus. The tool centres the head; retake if the original is blurred.
      4. Pixellated or low quality. Use the original phone photo, not a screenshot or a messaging-app copy.
      5. Photocopy sent by post. Send an original photo or a high-quality print.

      Ochre Card NT photo FAQ

      What size is an Ochre Card photo?

      45 to 50 mm high and 35 to 40 mm wide, per nt.gov.au. A standard 35×45 mm passport-size photo fits.

      Can I upload a photo for an online application?

      Yes. Online applications take the photo as a JPG file, per nt.gov.au.

      Can I post a printed photo?

      Yes, an original photo or a high-quality print. Photocopies are not accepted.

      Is there a free option?

      Applying in person at the SAFE NT office in Darwin: they take the photo at no cost.

      How recent must the photo be?

      Less than six months old, according to nt.gov.au.

      How long is an Ochre Card valid?

      Two years, according to nt.gov.au.

      Last verified 2026-10-29 against NT.GOV.AU – Working with Children Clearance: before you apply. Spotted a mistake? Report an error.

      Full requirements page