Visa · Canada

Canada visa and immigration photo (IRCC) photo maker and checker Check official source

Free: the full checker with live measurements, every control and a watermarked preview. Paid: clean files and print sheets from A$6.99. The price is shown before you add a photo.

Photo size
35 × 45 mm
Head height
31–36 mm
Background
plain and light
Glasses
No glare
Change document
For example “UK passport”, “DS-160” or “OCI”
  • Passports

  • Visas and e-visas

  • Citizenship and residency

  • Other ID

1 Your photo

Drag to move · scroll or pinch to zoom · arrow keys to nudge

JPEG, PNG, WebP or HEIC. Drag a photo here instead. Nothing is uploaded.

Camera tips before you shoot
  • Someone else holds the phone about 1.5 m away at your head height. No selfies at arm's length.
  • Daylight from a window in front of you; no flash, no overhead-only light.
  • Plain light wall, half a metre behind you, no shadow on it.
  • Shoulders in frame, space above the head; the tool crops.
  • Use the original file, not a screenshot or a messaging-app copy.

People

More than one person needs the Pass (up to 6). Names stay in memory only.

3 Adjust

Background editing is not allowed for this document. If the background check fails, retake against a plain wall.

2 Compliance checks

No photo yet

    4 Download

    Free Watermarked preview

    350 px JPEG and a 150 dpi 6×4 sheet, watermarked.

    Paid Print-ready files · A$6.99

    Single: one person, this document, 30 days. Pass A$12.99: 6 people, every document, 30 days.

    Charged in your local currency at checkout. Prices include GST for Australian buyers.

    Files to generate

      Guarantee: full refund if the authority rejects a photo our checker marked as passing, for size, framing, head position or file format. Terms. Overriding a failed check voids it for that rule.

      Family & multi-document pass

      A$12.99

      Up to 6 people, every document on the site, all formats, 30 days.

      Buy Pass

      Charged in your local currency at checkout. Prices include GST for Australian buyers.

      Already bought? Enter your licence key
      Starts with cs_; shown on the page after payment. Works on any device.

      Full Canada visa and immigration photo (IRCC) requirements · Why was my photo rejected? · Official source: IRCC – Visa application photograph specifications

      Canada visa and immigration photo (IRCC) photo requirements, in brief

      Condensed guide. Read the full Canada visa and immigration photo (IRCC) requirements or the rejection diagnostic.

      Specification

      Canada visa and immigration photo (IRCC) photo specification
      Photo size 35 × 45 mm (1.38 × 1.77 in)
      Pixels at 300 / 600 dpi 413 × 531 px / 827 × 1063 px
      Head height (chin to crown) 31–36 mm
      Eye line from bottom not specified
      Head width not specified
      Space above the crown not specified
      Background plain and light
      Background editing not allowed (retake instead)
      Glasses allowed only with no glare and frames clear of the eyes
      Expression neutral, mouth closed
      Recency taken in the last 6 months
      Print requirements plain photo paper, no borders — Two identical photos with your name and date of birth written on the back; not needed if you give biometrics.
      Digital upload 827×1063 px JPEG, 0–4 MB (IRCC online application (where a digital photo is requested)); 827×1063 px JPEG (Printing two 35×45 mm photos for a paper application)
      Self-taken photos accepted with conditions (see below)
      Prints needed 2
      Infant rules eyes open, mouth may be open (under 1)
      Official source IRCC – Visa application photograph specifications

      Check the official source. Some values on this page could not be confirmed from the official page when it was last checked (2026-10-28).

      • The IRCC photo specification page returned 404 at the known URL; the visitor visa guide (5256) confirms two photos meeting the specification with name and date of birth on the back, and no photos when biometrics are given. The 35×45 mm size, head 31–36 mm and digital minimum of 420×540 px with a 4 MB cap are from the previous specification page; re-check.
      • An eTA requires no photo at all; this page covers visitor visas, study and work permits and permanent residence.
      • eTA applications need no photo; biometrics appointments capture the photo for you.

      Can I take it myself? Yes, with conditions

      IRCC's visa specification is written for photographers (it asks the studio to stamp the back of printed photos), but unlike the Canadian passport it is not enforced for online uploads and most applicants submit a home-taken photo that meets the dimensions. If you are submitting prints, a studio stamp avoids a query. Where biometrics are required, you need no photo because it is captured at the collection point. We sell the product as a digital file for online applications and a print sheet, and we flag the stamp expectation here honestly.

      Why Canada visa IRCC photos get rejected

      1. Head height outside 31–36 mm. Adjust head size until the readout is in band; the measurement is checked.
      2. Light clothing blending with the background. Wear a darker top.
      3. Altered photo. No filters or background replacement; retake.
      4. Glare or tinted glasses. Remove them.
      5. No name and date of birth on the back. Write them on both prints.

      Canada visa IRCC photo FAQ

      Does an eTA need a photo?

      No. The eTA is an online form with your passport details only; no photo is uploaded.

      What size is a Canada visa photo?

      35×45 mm with the head 31–36 mm, plain white or light background, taken within six months.

      Can I take it myself?

      For online uploads, a compliant home photo is accepted in practice. For prints, a studio stamp on the back avoids a query.

      Is it the same as the Canadian passport photo?

      No. The passport photo is 50×70 mm and must be taken by a photographer; the visa photo is 35×45 mm.

      Do I need a photo if I give biometrics?

      No. The photo is taken at the biometrics appointment.

      What goes on the back of printed photos?

      Your name and date of birth, written on the back of both prints.

      Last verified 2026-10-28 against IRCC – Visa application photograph specifications. Spotted a mistake? Report an error.

      Full requirements page